Home » Creativity » While Telling the Truth…

While Telling the Truth…

So much going on today.  For one, it’s the start of a three-day weekend here in the US, so expect lots of drinking and fireworks.  I have thing I need to do, and I’ll likely spend most of Saturday getting those things done.  I promise I’ll stay away from the booze–at least for the most part.

I’ve been busy with writing, but almost none of it with the novel.  Last night was TV recap night and I spent about three hours getting out the work.  Yes, I know, I should work on the novel.  But I didn’t.  Tonight I need to start catching up on my mermaid story–which I am close to ending–and then I’ll get into the novel.

The biggest thing I worked on last night…  as you know, I am half of the writing team of The Snarking Dead, where my friend Rachel and I do our recapping thing.  Yesterday we crossed the 100,000 views line, which is a good accomplishment after having the site up for only fifteen months.  As such, we decided to pull the trigger and kinda go pro, going to a straight up .com tag so we can began modifying the site as we like and, most importantly, begin setting up ads to bring in some cash.  We should also be able to change our metatags to get a better presence on Google, which could get us more hits.

Going pro, I am.  Kinda.  We’ll see how it works out and check out how our next year goes.  Maybe whatever exposure we’ve gotten in the last fifteen months will lead to something more…

Now, on to the story.

Kerry’s being questions by someone who is not one of his friends and things could get interesting fast:

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

She leaned in toward him and spoke in a husky whisper. “Be careful.”

There was a loud snort from Gavino, who lightly elbowed Fidele. “Yeah, dude. Be careful or your girlfriend will get mad.”

“Shut up, Gavino.” Kerry jabbed a finger in his direction. “This has nothing to do with you.” He turned back to Franky. “And this has nothing to do with you, either. You trying to make a big deal out of something that happened a half a week ago. It’s over, it’s done. And I had nothing to do with what happened to Lisa. So just let it go.” He began to turn away, as did Annie. “I gotta get the class.”

Franky wasn’t about to let it go, however. “If you had nothing to do with it, then why did she crash?”

 

Kerry’s right at the end of his last nerve and Franky won’t let him go:  he’s just gotta keep pressing those buttons.  We know how Kerry is when he’s normally getting his buttons pushed, but this time he’s having this strange internal battle inside his body and the filters he usually keeps up are a little loose.  And that’s never a good thing.

Franky wants an answer.  Okay, then:  you’re going to get one–and it’s one that’s coming on blast…

 

Because your girlfriend is a shitty racer.” Kerry spun around and confronted Franky before Annie could say anything to dissuade him. “She races the same damn way every time: she likes to hang back on people until you start going into a corner that is tricky or dangerous, and then she dives in trying to take advantage and kill your momentum, because she figures the other racer would rather lose a few seconds on the course than crash because of her.

“And that’s exactly what she did to me last Saturday. She got behind me after damn near crashing a few other people on the Blue Line and started bird dogging my six. And I knew she was back there and I knew it was her, because this is what she does every damn race.

“Only this time I wasn’t going let her do that. That’s why every time she started setting up to dive in I threw a block at her. She tried doing at a Pentagon Pass, she kept trying to do that in Helter Skelter, and she tried doing every time thought South Side Slide and The Sweep.”

He took a step closer to Franky and jabbed a finger at him. “I didn’t care if everyone knew I was doing it, and I didn’t care if Race Control knew I was doing it, because I am sick of her shit out there when we race. I’m sick of her trying to wreck other people doing that, and I’m sick of her trying to wreck me doing it. So I made certain she wasn’t going to do it to me.

“And if you want to know why she crashed, I’ll tell you: because she’s not only a shitty racer, she’s also a shitty flier. When she pulled that last move on me in South Side Slide and I threw a block she decided she was going to keep coming—and when she saw I wasn’t going to give her any room to move up next to the safety enchantments, she tried to jerk her broom around to pass me on the left and lost control.” Kerry threw his hands up in the air to mimic an explosion. “Boom. And to use an expression that she dropped on me a year and a half ago, if she were a better flier she wouldn’t have crashed, but she isn’t: she sucks. End of story.”

 

Annie called it earlier:  normally Kerry walks away from something like this because he just doesn’t have the time for this BS.  But today–no.  He’s not walking away.  He’s getting right up in Franky’s face and telling him his girlfriend sucks and she’s a shitty racer and flier, so if anyone crashed Lisa, it was her.

And the fact that Kerry’s almost screaming this out in one of the most public areas of the school with a large part of the student body nearby gives you an idea of just how much he’s not in control of himself.  This is why you should listen to your soul mate, kid, and not make deals with her.

Where does this lead?  Well–

It can only lead to one place…

9 thoughts on “While Telling the Truth…

  1. I approve ! ! I absolutely approve ! ! ! ! And it’s about time too. Get them to fight, Cassie ! ! Let those bitches know who’s the boss, and they should be afraid, very, very afraid, ( Well, you know me….. I really, really hate it when Annie and Kerry don’t fight back. And I get sooooooooooooooo frustrated when they just take the abuse and bullying.

    • Usually I don’t agree, but in this case… GO KERRY! Someone needs to put that shitbird pair outta their misery and it looks like Annie lost her chance when Lisa decided to use a champion in their duel (because she knew she’d lose in seconds flat unless she did) and Franky thinks Kerry won’t stand up for himself. He firmly believes Kerry’s a coward and lets Annie fight his battles (which I do believe is true most of the time actually…) but not this time. No. Not this time. Franky’s lookin’ for a fight and this time, Kerry’s not backing down, and I don’t want him too. Hormones or no. It’s time for the shithead to learn his place.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

