Home » Creativity » Time to Throw Down: Show Me You Can

Time to Throw Down: Show Me You Can

Ohayo!  Or actually, Ohio.  Which is where I am right now.  It’s an old joke.

As old as me, apparently.

As I did last time I’m keeping track of my progress and stops, and a few hours ago I was in North Somerset getting fuel and something to drink.

Come for the gas.

 

Stay for the drink.

 

Oh, and in the continuing saga of me trying to become a roller derby girl, I came up with my name while on the road.  Because I can.  It’s fun.  You should try it.

So, last time Kerry got blasted and hurt–bad.  Well, not that bad:  he’s been worse.  Like in a coma worse.  So don’t cry for him, Argentina, he’s actually in good shape compared to some of the times he’s been brought into the hospital.

And he even has a few tricks up his sleeve…

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Kerry closed his eyes as a sigh of relief exhaled. “There, better.”

Ramona cocked her head to one side. “What happened?”

“I numbed the pain in my arm and ribs: I should be okay for a bit.” As if to prove his point a bit of color begin returning to his cheeks. “Professor, I know this is going to sound stupid and egotistical, but I can’t let Franky walk away from this. At least give me a chance to fight him, to show him I’m not going to go away after getting sucker punched. Please.”

Ramona needed five seconds to decide what to do with Kerry’s request. “Here’s what’s going to happen. If you can get up, on your own, stand, and walk over to your starting position without appearing as if you’re about to fall over, I will continue the trial. However, if I think for even a second you’re about to go down because you are physically unable to continue, the trial stops. Those are my conditions; what do you say?”

He needed only a couple of seconds to make up his mind. “Sounds good to me, Professor.”

“All right, then.” Ramona stood as did Annie and Nurse Bianca. With a wave of the instructor’s hand the privacy screen around them vanished. “Let’s get you on your feet.”

 

There are some who would say, “Why would Ramona let him continue banged up like he is?”  Well, she is Annie’s and Kerry’s martial arts instructor and who’s to say she hasn’t whacked these two around a little already?  Maybe not as hard as breaking an arm, but part of her instructor is to teach her students how to be mentally tough so they can ignore the pain.  Deep down she’s probably like, “Hell, yeah, this is what I want to see!”

Deadening the pain in his body is a little trick Kerry learned in Advanced Transformation.  Since the match hasn’t started he decided to help himself out and Ramona isn’t saying shit about it, so it must be okay.  It’s likely something he isn’t supposed to do, but do you think Ramona won’t cut him a little slack right now?

So, now:  on your feet, kid!

 

Kerry sat for a moment to clear his head then, after taking a deep breath, began slowly making his way to his feet. Even with the numbing spell he crafted on his chest and arm, it still felt a bit like little knives were being driven into him. Though he finally managed to stand, his head spun just a little as he tried to hold his balance.

Kerry. Look at me.” She stepped a bit closer and pointed at her own eyes. “Look at me. Are you okay?”

He took a couple of deep breaths before nodding once. “Yeah.”

“Do you wish to continue?” Ramona said it loud enough so the students in the room could hear her clearly.

He drew another deep breath. “Yeah.”

“Very well.” Ramona pointed to the test mat. “Return to your starting position.”

 

He’s up and he’s ready to go.  There’s someone wants to say something before he goes, though:

 

Annie caught Kerry’s eyes before he walked off. Her eyebrows raised slightly as she smiled. “I’m going to stand over here and watch you kick his butt.”

He looked down as he chuckled. “You think so?”

“I do.” She kissed his right cheek. “Go get him, Tiger.”

Kerry moved slowly toward the mat and his starting square. Ramona was already standing in the center of the mat waiting for him and she gave him a nod as soon as he returned to his starting position. He resisted the urge to nod back as he felt just a touch lightheaded.

When Ramona was satisfied that Kerry wasn’t about to fall over she addressed the crowd. “Despite Kerry’s injuries, he wishes to continue. Therefore, we—”

“Um, wait a minute.”

Just as they said he would do. Ramona turned to Franky. “You wish to say something?”

 

In case you don’t remember, Annie’s words to Kerry are nearly identical to his words to her before she started her trial, so we come full circle in a way.

And, in the role of Weaselly Little Shit tonight is Franky Smith, doing exactly as Ramona reminds us she was warned.  The question now is:  if Franky wants to back out, do you think Ramona will let him?

If you do, you don’t know my instructors…

4 thoughts on “Time to Throw Down: Show Me You Can

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

