Home » Creativity » An Anniversary in Bed

An Anniversary in Bed

Here we are, the start of a new week, and I’m back into the old grid.  Yesterday went well save for one of our people taking a few punches from a Nazi-type who decided to show up and counter-protest on his own.

I did, however, start Sunday off right:

Mermaid leggings, y'all.

A post shared by Cassidy Frazee (@cassidyfrazee) on

Yes, I’m really a mermaid.  And now I’ve been told I need mermaid booty shorts for skating.  Hum…

We’ll get back to that later.  Right now, it’s time to head back to school.  I believe there’s a boy in a hospital bed who is waiting for his private nurse–

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Kerry slowly opened his eyes to discover the hospital bay slightly visible in the dim light that had replaced the near pitch black darkness he had set maybe thirty minutes earlier. Though he couldn’t turn his head, could still see that he wasn’t alone: Annie was taking off her slippers as she prepared to slip under the covers of Bed #1.

He gave a low, raspy cough to let her know he was awake. “Hey.”

Annie hurried over to his side. “I’m sorry. I just changed and was trying to get into bed without waking you.”

“It’s okay; I been drifting in and out of sleep for about the last forty minutes, anyway.” He reached over with his free right hand and took Annie’s right hand. “How was class?”

“It was good.” She eased the chair over and sat next to his bed, her hand still held within his. “We went over the Aqua spells tonight; Wednesday brought in several tubs of water.” Annie chuckled. “The new kids made a bit of a mess tonight.”

Kerry found it humorous that any could refer to the new B Levels as “the new kids”. “They’ll get the hang of it in time.” He gave her hand to squeeze. “Did you miss me?”

“Of course I did, my love.” Annie kissed the back of his hand. “Do you realize that this is the first time we haven’t attended a class together?”

“What about Advanced Transformations? And my Advanced Flying classes?”

Annie made a scoffing sound. “The first class I audit and second set of classes I’ve never taken. This is the first class we both taken together regularly that only one of us attended.” She pressed his hand against her cheek. “I missed you incredibly. Did you miss me, my love?”

 

This is quite and accomplishment, to have spent two years together and not missed a class together–though technically Kerry never finished his first Sorcery class because a certain Dark Mistress of All decided to use him to see if Annie would flip the fuck out and try to hurt her.  That didn’t happen and the rest is history.

As for the loaded question of “Did you miss me?”, well, what do you think?

 

Kerry brought out his best smile. “Why do you think I spent most of my time dozing tonight? It was kind of lonely in here, Sweetie.”

“Well, you have no need to be lonely now.” Annie’s radiant smile matched her soul mate’s. “You do know what happened just about two years ago today, don’t you?”

He certainly did. “Emma got me to race with her, we crashed, my knee got screwed up—” Kerry managed to turn his head slightly to his right so he didn’t have to see Annie out of his peripheral vision. “I ended up spending the night here.”

“Oh, there was much more than that.” Annie rested her head against Kerry’s arm. “I got angry, came back later to apologize, and—”

“And got me to thinking about my real feelings towards you.” Kerry close his eyes as he spent a moment remembering that evening. “That’s when I started falling in love with you—again.”

Annie giggled. “And to think there are some girls here who haven’t yet had anyone fall in love with them once. I consider myself fortunate.” She ran her fingers up his arm and across his shoulder. “That was the first evening you began breaking down those barriers around your heart and your mind.”

Kerry snorted. “At least that’s what my other half told me.”

 

Yes, it’s been almost two years, novel-wise, since that day when Kerry got suckered into racing the Boulder Ginger and she screwed up his knee, which lead to–love?  Yeah, but between the two kids who were already in love, one of which just didn’t know it.  And it started a process that Kerry learned about during his Rune Dream, where he encountered the other girl who would change his life.

Yeah, a lot of recollecting here…

2 thoughts on “An Anniversary in Bed

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

