Home » Creativity » For Love and Sleep

For Love and Sleep

Last night was watching Better Call Saul–only one episode to go–about six hundred words in the novel, and Freshie practice.  Skating about twenty-five lap either pushing someone or being pushed by someone–don’t worry, I have video of this.  And I hope to have it cut and edited for tomorrow.

Anyway, there were also skill drills and about twenty minutes of stretching out of gear.  It’s like we’re training for a sport, or something.  Anyway, the smile below is probably due to endorphins kicking in and making me feel good.

Did I suvive Freshie pratice? I think so.

A post shared by Cassidy Frazee (@cassidyfrazee) on

 

Anyway, not only am I doing practice tonight, but I’m also getting involved in something tomorrow.  Stay tuned.

It’s time to bring Chapter Thirteen to a close, which means Chapter Fourteen starts up in a few days, and I’m reaching a point in the first scene where I’m about to write something that I know will bring tears to my eyes.  In the meantime Annie and Kerry continue reminiscing about the past–

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

But there was a far more serious implication that came from not going out on patrol that day— “If I don’t go out on the Day of the Dead, I don’t end up in the hospital. If I’m not in the hospital, you don’t get to spend the night with me. And if none of that happens—”

“Then you don’t remember the dream where you read to me. You don’t remember what I meant to you. I don’t snuggle up in bed next to you as you fall asleep.” Annie rose out of her chair and kiss Kerry on the lips. “I don’t hear you tell me you love me.”

Kerry blinked several times to clear the tears from his eyes. “I don’t hear you tell me you love me in Bulgarian. And then I don’t tell you I love you the next day, that you are the most important thing in my life.” He sniffed a couple of times, trying to hold back the swirling emotions he felt just below the surface. “You don’t tell me that you love me, that I’m the most important thing in your life.” He felt his head spin. “So many things don’t happen.”

 

If not for Kerry deciding to throw caution to the wind and head off on some unauthorized racing, he’d have likely never told Annie he loved her–at least not at that time.  Would Annie have needed to suffer through Yule wondering when her Ginger Hair Boy would remember her?  We’ll never know–though I have considered this and kinda know the alternative history to this question.  Yes, I look at all the angles.

And there’s something that Annie knows as well:

 

“So true.” Annie sat on the edge of his bed and looked down as she caressed the un-bandaged portion of his face. “The Kerry of two years ago would have ignored Franky today. He would held his emotions in and waved Franky off and walked to class. He probably would’ve been upset the entire time, but he would’ve done everything he could not to tell the girl he loves what walking away did to him.” She closed her eyes as a single tear trickled down her right cheek. “Even without all the hormones swirling about inside you, I don’t believe you would’ve walked away from Franky. I believe that no matter what, you would have confronted him.”

The tears were flowing a little more freely now as those emotions Kerry fought to keep repressed broke through. “I don’t know—”

I do. You’re not that same boy from two years ago.” She used tissue from the nightstand to dab at Kerry’s tears. “And you confirmed what I’ve always known: that I will never have to worry if you’ll be there if we’re in a bad situation. No matter how much we’re hurt, we’ll persevere.”

As soon as his cry out was over Kerry felt the medication he’d been given hit him hard. He reached out with his right hand. “I don’t think I’m going to be awake much longer.”

Annie leaned down kissed him again. “Then don’t fight it: go to sleep, my love.” As she stood she saw his eyes were closed and his breathing was starting to become regular as he slipped into unconsciousness. She kissed the index and middle finger of her right hand and pressed them against the right side of his face near his lips. “Otidete da spite, skŭpa moya. Obicham te.”

After making certain his blankets was secure she put the chair back and slipped under the covers of Bed #1. She turned out the lights and rolled onto her left side so she could take one last look at Kerry as he slept. As her eyes close only one thought filled her mind: and dream of us.

 

Nurse Annie is always there to make sure her soul mate is taken care of the right way.  And she knows she better not get into bed with him least she have Coreline on her in the morning talking about the possibility of infection.  Still, she’s right there and it’s almost the same as being in the bed.

Now lets get ready for racing!

After some morning drama…

4 thoughts on “For Love and Sleep

  1. Cassie, what were Kerry’s real feelings for Annie before the hospital scene ? Did he just go with the flow and accepted Annie’s feelings for him just because ? If Emma was the first to have conveyed her feelings for Kerry, would it have been her , instead of Annie ?

    • You can see what he really felt if you go back and read his E&A with The Phoenix. It’s been pointed out that in a way he knew, but his block kept him from knowing fully. However, there were moments when those feeling did bubble to the surface…

      • I remember quite vividly that Kerry valued his ” friendship ” with Annie, more than fulfilling what his mother desires…. a daughter. He thought if he chose being female, then Annie might not want to be her friend anymore. But at that time, he valued friendship more than his relationship with his mother. For the first time, he had a friend. ( and he more or less knew Annie liked him romantically…… but what if he became a ” female ” ?

        • Someone giving up a better relationship with their mother–maybe, we don’t know–for the friendship of someone he thought he knew for a week? There was a lot more going on there looking between the line.

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

