Home » HARD » Home From the Hio

Home From the Hio

Let me tell you, this weekend has bit a lot of an adventure.

It’s no secret where I was:  I headed off to the Wilds of Ohio–specifically an area just south of Youngstown, OH–so I could watch my roller derby team take on the local team there.  I took my camera and video camera and my tripod–which I left behind at the hotel but I’m having shipped back to me–so I snapped up a lot of stuff.  A lot of that got explained in this intro video:

 

Now, we didn’t do as well as hoped.  We lost by a pretty good margin.  But they all looked good in the teams shot after:

 

 

And even better when we went out for dinner.

How do we like to party? #HARD #RollerGirl

A post shared by Cassidy Frazee (@cassidyfrazee) on

 

I discovered something about myself, too.  Since we were rooming four women to a room I had to share a queen sized bed with someone else.  They said at one point I stared swearing in my sleep.  Not talking:  swearing.  They said first I made a strange sound and then went, “Well… shit,” then mumbled a bit later and clearly said, “You motherfucker.”  Believe me, I have no idea what I was talking about, but it probably wasn’t good.  Maybe Kerry was venting his frustrations with his mother.

The thing most important was that I got to see how the game it played–something I’m learning more of as I go over game footage–and I got to hang with the team members.  And I felt as if I fit in with everyone.  It’s been a long time since I’ve had the feeling that I “fit in,” and it’s nice to see yourself not as an outsider, but as someone who may actually be part of something.  That’s something I’ve craved for a long time and it’s possible I won’t have to feel that way much longer.

This was me returning home about four hours ago as I write this:

Heading home over Sideling Hill. #HARD #RollerGirl

A post shared by Cassidy Frazee (@cassidyfrazee) on

 

Someone on my Facebook page said I look tired but happy and that’s about as accurate as one can get.  I had a great time and I can’t thank everyone enough for what I experienced.

Of course this means I’ll have to go into this in more detail, but at the moment I’m trying to figure out how to copy video to YouTube that doesn’t suffer any degradation, as I noticed when moving some up to YouTube.  As soon as I figure that out I’ll bore you with the details of the game.  What?  You didn’t think I was going to do that?  Ha!  You don’t know me, do you?

There you have it:  Cassidy’s Excellent Adventure.  And this means tomorrow I get to go back to writing–

Maybe I’ll actually get this novel finished one day.

2 thoughts on “Home From the Hio

  1. Hi C! Great you took us along on the trip 🙂 Feeling a sense of belonging is tough.. sometimes I feel like a lot of people are around me but yet I’m alone somehow.. You keep at it xx

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

