Home » Creativity » News and Views: Setting it Straight

News and Views: Setting it Straight

Before I get to the novel I have to pass along news from last nights practice.  On my ninth practice session I was asked to do a 27/5, which is one of the test we do for certification.  You skate 27 laps in 5 minutes, which works out to about 5.4 laps per minute, or one lap every 11.1 seconds.  You get out and you don’t stop, you just keep going.

So, my first time out, I skated 18.5 lap in 5 minutes, which means I did one lap every 16.2 seconds.  Now I have to work on shaving off that five seconds a lap so I can get up to qualification speed.  Oh, and there’s video of it happening.  You’ll see that soon.

Now, about this excerpt–

Sure looks like Kerry shit the bed, huh?

You know, if you go back to the first novel, Kerry has come across at times like he’s a bit tone-deaf to social norms.  After all, he didn’t get named Captain Clueless because he’s always the sharpest knife in the drawer.  So, yes:  a thirteen year old Kerry did a dumb thing.  And he severely upset someone whom he does love a great deal.  That’s on him.

Does he have a reason for being this way?  He’ll try to explain:

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

She looked up with her eyes shadowed by emotions. “What did you mean, then?”

“I mean you should take that time to be with your family, not to make sure I’m okay.” He rocked her as he sighed. “Besides, it’s gonna feel awkward staying with you. All the while I’m there you’re parents are gonna be watching me—”

“No, they won’t.” Annie twisted her head to one side. “I admit we might not have the ability to be alone as much as we might like, but they aren’t going to watch your every move.”

“Maybe not, but—” He searched for the right words. “They don’t know me, so I’m not sure this is the best time for them to get to know me.” He looked down and away. “Particularly your father.”

Annie touched his chin. “Don’t be intimidated by Papa. It’s just the way he is—especially where I’m concerned.”

“Yeah, well, my concern is that he’s gonna be too concerned about me, and he’ll spend all his time hovering over us.”

Before Annie could reply Coraline threw back the privacy curtain and stepped into the bay. “Well, you are obviously in better shape than I anticipated.”

 

It appears that Kerry’s biggest worry is that he’s going to spoil Annie’s time with her family by being there, as well as feeling like her mother and father–particularly her father–are going to have him in their cross-hairs most of the time.  These are all legitimate reasons–it’s just unfortunate that he didn’t do it in a better fashion.

Which is all irreverent now as the School’s Doctor has appeared–

 

“I have a great doctor.” Kerry held on to Annie as he smiled at Coraline. “She makes everything better.”

“Flattery will get you nowhere, young man.” She cocked an eyebrow in Annie’s direction. “And I wouldn’t tell you if it did, not in front of Annie.”

For the first time in five minutes Annie managed to crack a genuine smile. She glanced at Kerry. “See? She knows better.”

“I certainly do.” Coraline slipped her hands into the pockets of her jeans. “I’ve sent messages to Vicky and Holoč telling them I’ve released you for racing. And with that—” She motioned towards the ward corridor. “You’re free to go.”

“Thank you.” Kerry slipped around Coraline and out of the bay, still holding Annie’s hand. “See you at the races.”

“Have a good time today.”

They made their way slowly into the waiting room. There were several things Kerry wanted to say, but he seemed unable to bring them out of his mind. The best he could do was make small talk. “So, what time are your parents supposed to get here?”

Just then Sabrina’s voice echoed through the Great Hall. “Attention. Will Annie Kirilova please report to the Atrium? Your parents have arrived.”

A huge smile formed as she glanced to her right. “I believe you know the answer to that question…”

 

“Annie, your parents are here!”  And so it begins.  I guess this is as good a time for them to get to know Kerry as any…

I’ll just leave you with one more thought which is really more of a question.  Has Kerry been acting a bit irrational of late?  Like, you know, being emotional and losing his shit on other people?  I know it’s a stretch, but maybe that’s got him being Snappy McSnapperson when he normally isn’t?

Asking for a friend…

2 thoughts on “News and Views: Setting it Straight

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

