Team Get Together: Can We Name Names?

I know what you’re thinking: damn, Cassidy. Kinda late for you to be getting a blog post out, isn’t it?  Well, yes it is.  See, a lot of things came up today and I was unable to get the post out at an earlier, more convenient time.  Which is why it’s coming out now. Better late than never, as I always say.

Now, Sunday morning I opened some gifts that I was given from an exchange I was in on Facebook.  I had three extremely excellent gifts: two keychains–

New keychains from my latest gift exchange.

A post shared by Cassidy Frazee (@cassidyfrazee) on

 

And this little beauty.

Now I have a resting mermaid. This could almost be Penny from my story.

A post shared by Cassidy Frazee (@cassidyfrazee) on

 

Everybody needs a little mermaid in their life.

Then yesterday afternoon I drove an hour south with a few members from my Derby team and we watched about between three different teams–it was a doubleheader game–in Hanover, Pennsylvania.

Do laundry or go to Derby? I think we know which one won out.

A post shared by Cassidy Frazee (@cassidyfrazee) on

 

Needless to say, I was busy all weekend.  Oh, and I should mention, I bought a GoPro Hero 5,, so I’ll be getting some excellent POV shots during freshie practice tomorrow night.

So, let’s pick up where we left off yesterday. And that seems to be, penalties are going to be given out for a variety of infractions which may or may not happen.  I think Penny is questioning what’s really being said…

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Penny leaned back in her seat. “What the hell is that supposed to mean?”

“It means that if someone should take action against you, you may be penalized if you decide to retaliate against them for said action.” Holoč drummed his fingers against the podium for two seconds. “While I did not agree to this particular dictum, Vicky and three other coven leaders agreed that it was necessary.”

Kerry cleared his throat. “Who was the other coven leader who agreed with you? Was it Professor Sladen?”

Holoč nodded. “As a matter of fact, it was.”

“That’s because she’s the only other coven leader who’s done any serious racing here. I can understand Vicky going for this ‘cause it’s her job as the head of racing to try and keep the peace.” Kerry leaned forward and seat, setting his elbows upon his thighs. “This is all about Lisa saying she’s going to get back at me for what happened last weekend, isn’t it?”

“No names were mentioned in reference to these rumors.”

“Please, Professor.” Alex squirmed around in her chair before leaning against her right arm. “Everyone knows Lisa’s been talking up a storm ever since her accident.” She nodded toward Kerry. “Just as everyone knows Franky used that judgment trial to try and take Kerry out of this weekend’s racing.”

While Holoč knew Alex’s and Kerry’s statements were factual, decorum prevented him from actually pointing fingers. “Again, while everyone in the school knows these things, names were not mentioned during our Race Control meeting this morning. Ergo, I cannot make accusations about individual racers.”

 

Yeah, we can talk about individual flyers because we don’t want to call anyone out.  Kerry would like a little clarification on this last point:

 

Since Kerry knew no one was getting called out by name—at least not by Professor Semplen—he moved on to the next obvious question. “So what if I don’t retaliate? What if I just protect myself after she attacks me—” He waved his hand as if to change the subject. “Excuse me: I mean if I’m attacked by anyone and not just a particular psycho girl who races for a coven with a Nordic name.”

Holoč waited for the laughter to tie down before answering the question. “I trust you to use your best judgment should that happen, Kerry.” He looked around the room at the five faces staring back at him. “While Race Control is looking to minimize incidences today, believe me: we will know who is in the right and who is in the wrong. And should any of you encounter difficulties with any racers on the course today—difficulties that are not brought about by your actions—I will make certain that the action is reviewed and I will do everything I can to see to it you are not penalized.”

He let the silence carry on for a few seconds before finishing. “I can’t promise you won’t receive a five second penalty, but I can promise I will fight to keep that from happening. Are we clear?”

Manco, the team captain, spoke for everyone in the room. “Understood completely, Professor.”

 

No one is fooled by the BS story; everyone knows it’s all about Lisa.  And now everyone on the Cernunnos Race Team know that if she comes after them, Professor Semplen will do his best to see to it they’re not penalized for protecting themselves–and if they are, you’ll work to keep the penalty at a minimum.  It can also be said that even though were not seeing it happen, a similar conversation like this is happening in every other coven, including one that has psycho racing girls.

It won’t be long before we get to the racing.  But we’ve still got a few of the things to go over in the ready room…

