Team Get Together: Oh, Something Else…

So, getting this out a little early today as I have a lot of things to do tonight.  Me, busy?  You know it, kids.

I was at practice last night but I didn’t work out–well, sorta didn’t.  I managed to get about three hours of video, though:  two from my tripod camera and maybe an hour from my GoPro.  Below is the first part of a longer video–about seventeen minutes–of the ladies in a pace line doing pullthroughs.  I’m on the side of the track while Laura wears the GoPro.  This is what it looks like from our point of view:

I also helped one of the freshies with a plow exercise where I didn’t need to be in skates to help her.  The foot is feeling better and I do hope to be back on skates by next Monday’s practice.  Tonight is bout review with pizza and ice cream.  We know how to party!

And speaking of party, it’s time for the kids–well, at least Kerry–to get out on the course.  And it seems Penny has one more question–

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

As she was putting on her second boot Penny leaned closer to Kerry and spoke in a low tone. “I heard something else today, too.”

Given the way Penny was acting, Kerry was certain he knew what she’d heard. “What was that?”

“That you’d put your name in the pot.”

He drew in a sharp breath as he continued lacing his own boot. “Yeah, I did.”

“What?” Alex leaned towards Penny as she looked at her friend with a shocked expression. “You’re not going home for Yule?”

Kerry stared at the spot on the floor for a few seconds. “My folks are going to Australia for Christmas. I need to find a place to stay.”

“So…” Penny leaned forward, resting her elbows on her thighs. “Are you going to stay with Annie?”

He shook his head slowly. “No.”

 

Penny drew the logical conclusion that since Kerry has a long-time girlfriend, it’s a simple matter to spend Yule with her.  And then he tells her no.  I wonder how Penny will take this?

 

Penny looked at him as if she couldn’t believe what she just heard. “No?”

Alex looked as if she wanted to jump out of her chair. “Why not? I’m sure her parents would let you.”

Having gone through this with any this morning, Kerry wasn’t in the mood to go through it again with his friends. “I don’t want to spoil her holiday—”

“You’re not going to spoil her holiday.” Penny affixed a piercing stare upon her teammate. “What the hell is wrong with you, mate?”

Kerry shot a bemused stare back at Penny. “Nothing’s wrong with me.”

“Did Annie ask you to spend the holiday with her?”

“Yeah.”

“And you still said no?” Penny’s voice grew a bit louder. “You remember what I told you when we met in Rendlesham Forest over the summer?”

Kerry finished leasing his boots and sat back in his chair. “I remember.”

“Well, why are you acting as if you don’t?”

He felt the sudden urge to snap irrationally at Penny, but caught himself as he realized that was likely caused by the hormonal imbalance he was currently experiencing. He got to his feet and turned to face his two friends. “Probably because I got a ton on my mind right now, none of which has to do with the Yule holiday.” He picked up his helmet and gloves. “Like you said, Annie’s parents are here and her father is probably going to be judging my every action out on track today.”

He stuffed his gloves in his helmet and let the arm holding it drop to his side. “I don’t want to sound like I’m bitching for no reason, but I would like to discuss this at another time ‘cause we got a lot of racing to do today.”

Penny stood nodded once and Kerry’s direction. “You’re right: we do have a lot of racing ahead of us today we should be thinking about that.” She placed a hand on his shoulder. “And we will talk about this later.”

Kerry grabbed on to Penny’s arm and gave her bicep a squeeze. “Not a problem.” He released her and slapped his helmet hard. “Let’s get going. There’s a Class 3 out there with my name on it.”

 

So, the news seems unanimous:  Annie, Penny, and Alex all think Kerry’s idea not to spend Yule with Annie is sort of–what’s the word I’m looking for?  Oh yeah:  bullshit.  And since Annie will have time to talk to her parents without Kerry around, I wonder what she’ll talk about?

We’ll likely find out much later–

Right now we have a race to run.

Thoughts On Donald Trump Jr.’s Confession

Mike the Mad Biologist

Because things are moving so fast, here’s a list of observations:

  1. Donnie Two Scoops is gonna whack Fredo. I kid, but here’s a serious point: these leaks didn’t come from the FBI, the CIA, or foreign intelligence services. The leaks that led to Junior’s, erm, ill-advised admission of collusion came from inside the White House. The mind boggles. At this point, one has to wonder if, an external crisis were to occur, if the administration could offer a coherent response, given the level of backstabbing.
  2. All of the denials by the Trump campaign from 2016 ring pretty hollow at this point.
  3. Related to what I wrote here, just how much more ‘well, but…’ are some people going to engage in? Every denial has turned out to be false. Read some articles (not Louise Mensch–ian the Grand Poobah of the Supreme Court is implementing Impeachment Protocol 8675309 crap), and you’ll…

View original post 454 more words