Sentinel of the Extra Hours

Today I’m taking the opportunity to take a title from the legendary Harlan Ellison short story and warp it around so it fits into something I can place in my blog.  Why?  Perhaps it’s my only chance to be as a tenth as that literary maniac, though I fear even that attempt will fall short.  So just be me, yeah?  Yeah.

My nights are filled with a lot of things this week.  Practice two nights, one of which I didn’t have to attend, but I feel like a slacker if I don’t.  Last night was bout review and I was there with my computer as I was the person who filmed and put together the playlists of the footage of the last two games.  It was a lot of fun and a chance to hang out with the team–and it ran a little longer than I expected.  I thought I’d be home by nine:  it was about ten-thirty when I hit the door.  And since we’d been outside for a good part of this I needed a shower to get the sweat off–

And then I got to writing.

Only…  By eleven I was nodding off.  I mean that in a literal sense:  I sat at the computer with my Dragon up and running and the headset on, and my head was falling forward as I fought to stay awake.  I manged exactly 350 words before shutting it all down and heading off to bed.

After three and a half years in The Burg I’m finally getting something of a social life and as we know, when you are out being sociable, something has to suffer.  My sleep has suffered a bit–mostly because a few nights a week I’m getting four hours of sleep–but my writing has gone right into the tank.  I’m behind on my novel and my recaps, which means I’ll be playing a lot of catch up this weekend.  Maybe I’m averaging two thousand words a week on the novel, and that’s if I get in a lot of quality time on the weekend.

In the next couple of weeks this should straighten out a bit and I’ll find myself with a much better schedule, but the truth is–I don’t think so.  I’m attending an event after work tonight and the chances are I won’t be home until after nine-thirty or ten.  Hey, at least I can get in about five hundred words tonight before crashing and burning.

The writing biz would be a lot better if I didn’t have a day job, but that’s not the case.  There is one possible solution to this mater and I believe I’m gonna have to try that again and see what happened.  After all, it once worked for me well, so I don’t see why I wouldn’t now.

Being social:  it’s a blessing in many ways, but it’s also a curse.  You want to get out and do things, but in doing so you gotta put something to the side.  Either that, or you find a way to free up some of those extra hours you’re hanging on to and put them to good use.

I can’t hold all those hours back, can I?