Home » Dream » Freshie 4: In the Round

Freshie 4: In the Round

With this title I feel a little like Yes back in the day when they performed on the rotating stage.  Though I can’t image they moved as fast as me.

Our last Fresh Meat practice, 25 July, 2017, was a bit light.  Ashley headed south to see her brother graduate from the Marines.  Rachel was out with tonsillitis, Jackie was also sick, and Rachel Rey and Tara were out with family issues.  Emily was MIA and Gwen, we learned yesterday, is moving to Pittsburgh and hopes to join a team out there, which leaves us with the possibility that one day some of us will have the opportunity to knock her on her ass during a game.

And Grace?  Last night was mandatory practice getting the team ready for our bout on 6 Aug, and as I remarked last night, she’s moved up to the “adult table” and scrimmaged with the vets.  It’s sad to see her go, but eventually we’ll all do the same.

As for the four of us there with Coach Ida–Erica, Laura, Resi, and me–Resi and I were off-skates as we were The Walking Wounded:  she with a sprained ankle and me with the bad foot.  That meant Erica and Laura got all the workout, which they totally deserve as they are tough fresh, so they can take it.

It also allowed me to film from the inside of the track, which means I got to spin around as I followed the ladies.  It was good practice in case I’m ever allowed to do this, but that’s something I doubt will ever happen.

First up, then, is seeing if I can even do this.  That means I track them ’round and around the track as they do cardio:

 

After that they got into single blocking, which consisted of them throwing shoulder blocks at each other.  There was blocking, there was laughing, there was swearing.  Pretty much how all our practices go.

 

Then it was time for double blocking with Ida helping out.  This is what happens when you have two blockers trying to stop a jammer and you do your best to wall her up.  Depending on penalties a team can find themselves in this position and when it happens, you better be ready to hold that jammer until your people start streaming out of the penalty seats.

 

And lastly 180 toe stops, where one spins around and goes up on their toes to stop.  Most of this video, however, is everyone waiting for me to find Ida’s whistle, which I couldn’t find because it was attached to the outside of her bag.  Duh.  There’s also a bit of hilarity here as we were getting a little punchy by then…

 

One last thing before I go:  last night I was still off skates, so I spent the time watching the team scrimmage as they got ready for the upcoming bout.  My depression, being what it is, started to get the better of me, and I found myself crying for a bit as I wondered if I was ever going to get as good as the rest of the women on the team.  I can’t let depression get the better of me as its done in the past as that’s caused me to give up on projects before.

I push myself way too hard at times.  I know it’s all a process, that it takes time to train yourself to do things.  That happened with writing and it’s gonna happen here.  I need to just let my body get used to things in their own time and not push it too hard, least I screw up royally.  Like with this injury:  if I’d gone completely off-skates for two weeks after it happened I’d have practiced well this whole week.  Lesson learned here.

And lesson learned that believing you aren’t good enough to reach the top isn’t the same as not reaching the top.

Sometimes it takes a while longer for us to walk the same path.

One thought on “Freshie 4: In the Round

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

