Visiting Slyly: The End of the Visit

So let’s make this quick:  first, today is my home bout game day and my afternoon and evening are gonna be a little…  crazy.  I’ll help set up the track and then video the bout for tomorrow night’s review, but even with all that work I’m ready for the game.  Oh, I am so ready–

Got my hair for tomorrow. #HARD #RollerGirl

A post shared by Cassidy Frazee (@cassidyfrazee) on

 

Yes, that’s me with green hair–or I should say, a kelly green wig.  Managed to find on at Make Believin’ in York, PA, and finding that place was a bit of an adventure in of itself as I screwed up and took the wrong turnoff to get there and had to do a lot of backwoods driving–I even had to resort to using Google Maps directions to find the place.  But I found it, I got a wig, and I’m really to roll this afternoon.

Today I’m also presenting the last of the first scene of Chapter Sixteen because you’ve waited two days for it and it’s just long enough to fill out this post nicely.  In case you had forgotten, Pavlina asked Kerry to come stay with the Family Kirilovi over Yule.  And what does Kerry say?

 

(The following excerpts from The Foundation Chronicles, Book Three: C For Continuing, copyright 2016, 2017 by Cassidy Frazee)

 

Kerry already knew what he was supposed to say, but as he’d had a few minutes to think about what he’d originally told Annie this morning, he felt it was necessary to amend his original answer. “Annie invited me this morning and I wasn’t open to the idea. However…” He gave Annie’s hand a long, slow squeeze. “I’ve had time to reconsider what I said and I realize I was caught up in my own drama at the time and gave a stupid, wrong answer. What I should have said—what I should always say to such an invitation—is yes.” He turned and glanced between Pavlina and Victor. “I would love to stay with you. Thank you for having me.”

“Thank you for accepting our invitation.” She turned to Annie with a smile. “Looks as if you’ll now have reason not to sulk in your room all holiday.”

Annie gave her mother a slight glare before breaking into a wide grin. “Yes, it seems I will, Mama.”

Pavlina tugged at Victor’s arm. “We need to be leaving soon. Why don’t we say a few goodbyes before going?”

 

You knew Kerry was going to say yes.  At the same time he’s doing what he can to make up for his original bad answer.  Again, it’s likely that, in time, he’d have come to this same answer after having some time to think about why he said what he said–it’s even more likely he would have reversed himself by the time the dance rolled around.

Now that the answer has been given, Pavlina thinks it’s a good time to leave the kids alone for a bit–

 

He nodded. “I would like to have a few words with Holoč before leaving.”

“Then let’s find him and do so.” She glanced at Annie. “How about if we meet Kerry and you in the main Cernunnos commons in twenty minutes? Assuming Kerry can leave, that is.”

Annie nodded. “He should be able to leave soon. We’ll meet you there.”

“Good.” Both adults turned and left the hospital bay.

Certain that they were alone Annie leaned in closer to Kerry. “Why did you change your mind?”

He chuckled. “Did you think I would say no to your mother?”

“You did to me.”

Kerry lowered his gaze and sighed. “And for that I’m truly sorry. I have no excuse for saying no other than I was caught up in my own drama and I couldn’t see how not accepting your invitation would hurt you.” He sat up and kissed Annie on the lips. “I won’t make that mistake again. I don’t ever want to hurt you.”

Annie caressed his cheek for several seconds before kissing his lips for what seemed like a long time and continued caressing it after she broke the kiss. “Apology accepted. But don’t do that again.”

He lay his hand over hers. “I won’t. I promise.”

“I’ll hold you to that.”

“Oh, you two—” Coraline entered the bay, a huge grin on her face. “Is there a particular reason for this smooching other than you guys can’t help yourself?”

Annie laughed. “Kerry’s coming to stay with me over Yule.”

Coraline shot her a surprised glance as she motioned for Kerry to lay back. “And your parents know about this?”

“My mother was the one who made the invitation.”

“Well, lucky you.” Coraline ran her glowing hand over Kerry’s body while watching the monitors. “As I thought: you’re completely healthy. No deep tissue pulls or bruising.

Which means—” She snapped off the monitor. “You can go get some dinner and then get ready for the dance.”

Kerry smiled as broadly as Coraline had when she entered the bay. “Thank you.” He slid off the left side of the bed, his hand still holding Annie’s. “See you at the dance.”

They were out of the hospital and heading towards the Rotunda before Kerry spoke again. “You know, as bad and crazy as this day’s been—”

Annie leaned against him holding his hand and arm tight. “Yes?”

He rested his head against hers. “I think tonight is gonna be magnificent.”

 

There you go:  racing is over, Kerry is fine, and Annie is happy that he’s gonna be her guest over the holiday.  This means from the time they met in Paris before the start of school they’ll be together until school is over and Kerry returns to Cardiff.  A whole nine months of being in each other’s lives–

Why, one might almost think they were married.

Up next:  let’s get to dancing.

