Home » Dream » Freshie 5: Still Alive

Freshie 5: Still Alive

Yeah, you knew I was gonna go with this title.  And if you didn’t, you don’t know me well, do you?

Tuesday, 8 August, was my fifth Freshie practice, and there was a full house this time.  In addition to Rachel, Laura, Erica, Ashley, Jackie, me, and Coach Ida, my political protesting friend Mary decided she had to try out this derby thing after watching HARD go at it a couple of days earlier.  I think she’s hooked, but we’ll see how it plays out over time.

Unlike the practice we had the next night, we freshies worked on a lot of pace line work.  There were hip and shoulder checks, but a new drill we undertook for the first time involved two people coming up from the back , skating to the front on either side of the line, and then trying to force one or the other out once they arrived at the front.  It made for some interesting outcomes and, in one instance, comedy on my behalf.

Because of the size of the original video I had to cut this into three parts–

Pace Line 01.

 

Pace Line 02

 

Pace Line 03

 

I also took some Go Pro video of what some of this looked like from my point of view.  I thought I had more, but it turned out for about 10 minutes of pace line shooting my camera was looking more at the ceiling than the people in front of me.  So this is all you get from that.  This was shot during the last pace line video seen above.

Pace Line Go Pro.

 

Now, about that comedy…  If you watched the first pace line video you may have heard someone retching followed by a large girl in a pink tank top having to skate out of line and head for the wall.  Both those people were me.  What was happening?  I was gagging on my new mouth guard because I have a shitty, hair-trigger gag reflex and even with a bit of trimming I’m still getting that gagging feeling, though it wasn’t as bad on Wednesday night.

But Tuesday night?  Gagolicious, baby!   In case you didn’t watch that first video all the way through, here’s the highlight:

Me gagging.

 

We also worked on knee drops and plows.  I still can’t plow for shit, but I’m slowly getting better.  Knee drops, however:  I can now drop and tap either knee and keep going, though not at great speed.  Yet.  Now that I can do a Tap and Go, it’s a matter of picking up speed.

Knee Drops and Plows.

 

Because the dudes who play roller hockey–that’s the game with sticks and balls, Mary–took over half the rink at 9:30, we went over to our half side and worked on shoulder hits and trying to force people off the track.  You get a pretty good view with this video as you’re seeing it from right behind the “track”.  We were hitting just a little harder this time as we were told during Bout Review that we need to start “Getting our Grrrr on”, which is to say we need to step up our intensity a bit.

Shoulder Hits.

 

Again I had the Go Pro going, but during one of the hits the camera on my helmet mount flopped down and no one told me it was pointing at my feet.  Probably because we were too filed with derby lust to go out there and knock someone off the track!

So I only managed a little Point of View work and missed one part where Ida hit me pretty good.

Shoulder Hits Go Pro.

 

There you have it:  our latest venture into Fresh Meat territory.  Next week I think I’m gonna haul the cameras into the practice with the OGs, because we might get some good blocker/jammer practice in again.

I can only hope.

2 thoughts on “Freshie 5: Still Alive

    • That’s what we were told. Our last bout was pretty physical and one of out players mentioned during bout review that there are times, in bouts and in practice, when we don’t seem “mean enough.” So yes, Grrr we must do now and then. 🙂

I Want to be Part of the Craziness! Let Me Say This:

